ASWAD Officers

Executive Board

Nwando Achebe
Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Jack and Margaret Sweet Endowed Professor, History
Michigan State University

Maureen-Maisha Auma
Professor for Childhood and Difference
Magdeburg-Stendal University of Applied Sciences

Luciana Brito
Professora de História
Universidade Federal do Recôncavo da Bahia - UFRB

Sherwin K. Bryant
Associate Professor of African American Studies and History, and Director of the Center for African American History
Northwestern University

Kia Caldwell
Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Diversity, Professor of African and African-American Studies and the Dean’s Distinguished Professorial Scholar in Scholar in Arts & Sciences
Washington University in St Louis

Yolanda Covington-Ward
Chair, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Natanya Duncan
Director of Africana Studies and an Associate Professor of History
Queens College City University of New York

Aisha Finch
Associate Professor of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Emory University

Bryce Henson
Assistant Professor of Media, Culture, and Identity in the Department of Communication & Journalism

Texas A&M University

Rashauna Johnson
Associate Professor of History
University of Chicago

Joseph Jordan
Vice Provost for Academic Community and Engagement and Director of the Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Ato Quayson, FGA, FRSC, FBA
Professor of English
Stanford University

Chinua Thelwell
Associate Professor of History, Africana Studies, and Asian & Pacific Islander American Studies and Director of Africana Studies
William & Mary


For a list of past board members click here.

As a not-for-profit organization ASWAD complies with the federal government’s zero-tolerance policy on sexual orientation and gender identity (SOGI) discrimination.